Store Categories
Buy Online Mariah Carey - The Emancipation Of Mimi

Mariah Carey

The Emancipation Of Mimi

Double Vinyl $34.00

Release Date: 18/12/2020

Discs: 2

Early buzz on The Emancipation of Mimi predicted that this would be the disc to mark “the return of the voice”–the voice being that glass-shattering instrument that propelled Carey to the bestselling female artist of all-time status–and mostly it is. But because of the small army of talent involved in its assembly, the album is way more than just a comeback vehicle. For proof, try straight-ahead, look-out-Beyonce-Mimi’s-still-got-it “Mine Again,” or ’70s-soul cuddle-up, “Circles:” a don’t-attempt-on-American-Idol love song, or the gospel dazzlers “Fly Like a Bird,” and “Stay the Night.” But for songs that steer this disc directly into 2005, no looking back, scan the jewel case for the tracks followed by the word “featuring”: “To the Floor,” with Nelly, bumps along to maximum booty-shaking effect, while Twista spins his natural-disaster-force vocals into “One and Only.” Snoop Dogg, Pharrell Williams, and Jermaine Dupri also pitch in; between them and the highwire vocals, Emancipation works the kind of pure-pop magic that sets us all free. Tammy La Gorce

Our fifteen-anniversary reissue comes with four new bonus tracks.

Track Listing:

Disc One
Side A
1. It's Like That
2. We Belong Together
3. Shake It Off
4. Mine Again

Side B
1. Say Somethin'
2. Stay The Night
3. Get Your Number
4. One And Only
5. Circles

Disc 2
Side C
1. Your Girl
2. I Wish You Knew
3. To The Floor
4. Joy Ride
5. Fly Like A Bird

Side D
1. We Belong Together (Remix)
2. Don't Forget About Us
3. Making It Last All Night
4. Sprung
5. Secret Love

More From This Artist