Store Categories
Buy Online Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes - What Kinda Music Deluxe

Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes

What Kinda Music Deluxe

Double Heavyweight Vinyl $33.99

Release Date: 24/04/2020

Discs: 2

Sold Out

We are excited to present Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes’ “What Kinda Music” – an astonishing collaboration between two artists of very different disciplines, and one of the most unique and seamlessly original projects of its ilk to date.

Moving fluidly through sleek electronica, avant-garde jazz, vintage hip hop and so much more, Misch and Dayes take you on a journey that is by turns surprising and spontaneous, heady and head spinning, and nothing less than compelling – a singular vision which fuses the DNA of both musicians with spectacular results, as can be seen in the title track, which comes backed by a gorgeously atmospheric video by XX.

Even though the fundamental bones of this project came together very quickly, its actual provenance stretches back much, much farther back, with the pair not only growing up in the same area of South East London, but Misch actually seeing Dayes play on drums in the school talent show for the first time when he was roughly 8 or 9. They both kept tabs on each other – Misch becoming a fan of Dayes’ act Yussef Kamaal, Dayes clocking his videos in 2014 – but it was only when they met at a launch party for Misch’s debut LP “Geography” in 2018 that the proverbial creative sparks began to fly. “As a musician you’re always looking for contemporaries who can push you and challenge you and make you better”, says Dayes. “I instantly felt that with Tom – he was such a gifted musician, and so prolific”. That summer they decided to go into the studio together, jam a little, and see what happens, with no other expectation placed upon it. 


Disc 1
Side A
1. What Kinda Music
2. Festival
3. Nightrider (feat. Freddie Gibbs)

Side B
1. Tidal Wave
2. Sensational
3. The Real
4. Lift Off (feat. Rocco Palladino)

Disc 2
Side A
1. I Did it For You
2. Last 100
3. Kyiv

Side B
1. Julie Mangos
2. Storm Before the Calm (feat. Kaidi Akinnibi)
3. Saddle (deluxe LP only)
4. Tidal Wave Outro (deluxe LP only)
5. Seagulls (deluxe LP only)

More From This Artist